Throwback Thursday; Provisioning for the Zombie Apocalypse

When we left San Diego our destination was all points south and west. We had given ourselves a time line of about 18 months to reach Australia (we obviously didn’t quite make it as it is almost 8 years later and we’ve yet to touch Aussie waters) and knew our jump off point into the South Pacific would probably be Panama, but other than that we were leaving things open.

It had originally been our plan to depart in November but an accident that resulted in Steve breaking his leg meant we didn’t push off the dock until February. This gave me ample opportunity to obsess about things, especially all things food related; what would we find outside the USA? What should we buy now? How long will things last? What new exciting food stuffs would we encounter? Is the meat going to be any good? How much will things cost?

Although I had experience with provisioning (that’s boat talk for grocery shopping) for a long trip before, I had never sailed the Pacific so I had no idea what to expect. So I did what almost every rookie sailor does but few will admit. I provisioned like the zombie apocalypse was coming.

I would later find out that indeed people all over the world eat food, food that is tasty and affordable and more often than not fresh and healthy. It would take literally years for me to open the final can that I bought in San Diego, and then it was a waste not want not situation and not because I really liked the idea of eating what was inside.

I had been hoarding, I mean provisioning for months already, and the boat was full but I decided I had forgotten a few last items. On my last provisioning trip in the USA, with Steve at home still in a walking cast, I set off across town on foot and public transportation with a backpack and a folding shopping trolly the size of a milk crate. Things maybe got a little out of hand and when I finally made it back to the boat hours later even I was surprised at how much I managed to bring home that I actually wrote it all down.

  • Ketchup 36oz
  • Molasses 12oz
  • Pancake Syrup 24oz (one of the last things to go, a sad stand in for maple syrup)
  • Fish Sauce 750ml
  • Sesame Oil 200ml
  • Wasabi sm can
  • Olive Oil 3lt
  • Paprika and Oregano
  • Tomatoes 7 lrg cans
  • Tomatoes 10 sm cans
  • Tomato Paste 10 sm cans
  • Beans 6 cans
  • Beets 3 cans
  • Pasta 6 sm packets
  • Noodles 6 sm packets
  • Rolled Oats 9 lbs
  • Quick Oats 9 lbs
  • Quinoa 8 cups
  • Millet 4 cups
  • Couscous 8 cups
  • Grits 3 tins
  • Cornmeal 1 box
  • Rice 5lbs
  • Flax 1 med bag
  • Wheat Germ 1 med bag
  • Wheat Bran 1 med bag
  • Zucchini 2 sm
  • Onions 4 med
  • Tomatoes 8 lrg
  • Asparagus 1 bunch
  • Bell Peppers 2 lrg
  • Apples 10 lrg
  • All Natural Peanut Butter 10 jars (the last thing I bought, completely overloaded, and you should have seen the face of the cashier when I dumped 10 jars on the counter! But TOTALLY worth it.)
ZA

If the zombie apocalypse did come, we’d be OK on Kate!!

Love,

H&S

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday; Provisioning for the Zombie Apocalypse

  1. My last blog post was on provisioning, also known as prepping if you’re on land and possibly waiting for the end of the world or just a good old fashioned disaster.
    We are very stocked up and with a major snow event coming our way tomorrow, we won’t starve for a month. Or more. Hello hot meals and wine.
    I’m worried about the potable water system freezing if shore power goes out but that’s why they made generators!

    Like

    • Just read your post, interesting comparison. I am not sure about your snow storm comment, what are you doing so far north?! That winter in California was cold enough for us, we ran through a bottle of propane in two weeks, baked/roasted everything just to keep the cabin warm. There are a few food/provisioning articles I wrote on the website. Any send an email if you have any questions, happy to help. BTW Outside the USA eggs are usually not refrigeratered and so keep fine on the counter for 3-4 weeks.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

